Symbols & Signs

There are a variety of symbols that are used through various traditions. Symbols are very important in Wicca, Neopaganism, and other religions. Symbols can be used as amulets or charms, and also to decorate altars or ritual circles. The following is a sampling of many different symbols and signs and also a brief description of the symbol meaning. It is by no means a complete list. We will continue to add more symbols and signs as we learn more about them.
all seeing eye symbol

All Seeing eye

This symbol considered a symbol of the watchful and protective power of the Supreme Being, the all-seeing eye of God or the Eye of Providence. It is often used in divination, hexes, curses and psychic related magick.

crossed spears symbol

Crossed Spears

This is a symbol often represents power and protection. Variations of the crossed spears can be seen throughout many cultures and time periods, from British heraldry to the flag of Kenya. It is also one of the eight Witches’ runes. In divination, it signifies quarrels and conflict.

eight spoked wheel symbol

Eight-Spoked Wheel

The eight-spoked Wheel of the year marks the important holy days or Sabbats in the Wiccan ritual calendar, derived from the four pointed sun wheel or solar cross marking the Solstices and Equinoxes.

hecates wheel symbol

Hecate’s Wheel

A symbol that represents the three stages of womanhood: maiden, mother and crone. The ancient goddess Hecate was the Greek goddess of crossroads. The wheel symbolizes the phases of life for a woman with a labyrinth and the power and knowledge in moving through life.

horned god wiccan symbol

Horned God

A symbol that represents the horned god, one of the primary deities worshipped in many Wiccan traditions. It symbolizes masculine energy.

pentacle symbol

Pentagram & Pentacle

A five-pointed star known as the pentagram or pentangle, often circumscribed by a circle. It symbolizes the five classical elements in Wicca (earth, air, fire, water and spirit), the five appendages of the human body, the five senses and various other magical and symbolic associations. The inverted pentagram represents physical being and is used for breaking barriers, dismissing bad luck and new beginnings.

seal of soloman symbol

Seal of Soloman

A design that has been documented as being used as early as the Bronze Age. The name comes from King Solomon who according to Arabic legend could command demons with the power he drew from the hexagram etched on his ring. Another name for this symbol is the Star of David, which links it to the Jewish tradition. For the Jewish tradition, the hexagram is used as an amulet to protect against a demon named Lilith.

seax wicca symbol


Used within the Seax-Wiccan tradition. It refers to the moon, the sun, and the eight Wiccan Sabbats.

septogram symbol


Also known as a faeyr star. It is a seven-pointed symbol, which is a powerful number in magic. It represents 7 chakras, 7 elements, 7 days of the week and heaven. It is also used in rituals for protection and harmony.

solar cross symbol

Solar Cross

The Solar Cross represents the light and movement of the sun. It is used as a protective symbol and evokes the power of the Sun. It represents both balance and infinity and embodies themes of birth, death and rebirth. It is also good to use in rituals and magick to banish negativity.

thors hammer symbol

Thor’s Hammer

Also known as Mjölnir, Thor’s hammer is a Norse symbol associated with the Norse god Thor. It is used in rituals for protection and power.

triquetra symbol


The term “triquetra” originally meant triangle or any three-cornered shape. But it has come to refer a three-pointed figure composed of three overlapping “vesicae piscis” (the shapes formed by the intersection of two circles with the same radius), sometimes added with a circle around it. It has been found on runestones in Northern Europe, Germanic coins and also in early Celtic art. It is more modernly used by Wiccans and other Neopagans to symbolize the Wiccan Triple Goddess, the interconnected parts of our existence (Mind, Body and Soul), and other concepts that relate to the idea of unity.

triple horn of odin symbol

Triple Horn of Odin

A Norse symbol symbolizing the three drinking horns of Odin, the father of all Norse gods. It is a celebratory symbol, an used in ceremony, celebration and drawing on the divine feminine.

triple moon wiccan symbol

Triple Moon

This symbol depicts the three phases of the moon (waxing crescent, full moon and waning crescent) and is often used to represent the Triple Goddess of Wicca and Neo-paganism. The goddess is ascribed the three aspects of Maiden (youthful enthusiasm and promise of new beginnings), Mother (ripeness, fertility, sexuality and power) and Crone (wisdom, repose, death and endings).

unicural hexagram symbol

Unicural Hexagram

This form of the Hexagram can be used to work with elemental energies as well as planetary and has a strong emphasis on the balance between the moon and the sun.

"A wise witch knows the shadows come from light."

The spiral is one of the most ancient symbols and has been found on many burial sites across the globe. It most likely represented the “life-death-rebirth” cycle. A Celtic triple spiral has been adopted by some Neo-pagans as a symbol of the triple goddess. Celtic knots and mazes are often used to represent the intricacy of nature and human thought.
celtic shield knot

Celtic shield knot

Also known as the Icovellavna, the Celtic knot is an endless knot design that turns in on itself that originated with the Celtic people. It is used as symbol for protection and to ward off negative energy.

celtic triple knot symbol

Celtic triple spiral

This symbol is sometimes called the “spiral of life” and has been found on objects from the Bronze Age in Ireland. It is an ancient symbol of Celtic beliefs and represents the triple goddess.

In Wiccan, Neo-Pagan and other secular traditions the elements are the fundamental building blocks of the universe. They are incorporated into rituals and magick. The main four (air, earth, water, and fire) are used to associate with the four cardinal directions: north, east, south and west in Wiccan traditions. They are called upon in ritual to begin and end the ritual as the ritual circle is closed. They are also designated to each point of the pentacle circle and relate to specific tools that are used in rituals and on a Wiccan altar. Beyond Wicca, the elements are associated with a variety of beliefs and tools such as crystal magick, herbalism and tarot. Below are each symbol meaning and how they are viewed and used in witchcraft.
air symbol

Air element

One of the four classical elements in alchemy. It is used in Wiccan traditions to draw attention to wisdom or communication. It can also be used to symbolize the east or breath.

earth symbol

Earth Element

One of the four classical elements in alchemy. It is used in Wiccan traditions to draw attention to the divine feminine, motherhood, growth, life and nature.

fire symbol

Fire element

One of the four classical elements in alchemy. It is used in Wiccan traditions to draw attention to the masculine energy or transformation. It is also used in rituals to initiate, purify, destroy and begin something new.

water symbol

Water element

One of the four classical elements in alchemy. It is used in Wiccan traditions to draw attention to the feminine energy. It can also be used to symbolize the east or breath and wash away negative energies.

spirit symbol

Spirit element

Also known as aether in the Wiccan community, the spirit element is a symbol used to unite the main four elements. In a literal sense, the symbol combines the four when the symbol is drawn in a ritual. And in a spiritual sense, it unites the elements that surround us and make us whole.

Quick Learning


Find books and articles to further your learning and practice.